“My story is this. Four simple words:”  

“I suffer from depression.”

“For a long time I think I was living two totally different lives where one person was always afraid of the other.  I was afraid that people would see me for who I really was.  That I wasn’t the perfect, popular kid in high school everyone thought I was.  That beneath my smile there was struggle.  And beneath my light there was dark.  And beneath my big personality just hid even bigger pain.”  Kevin Breel

Kevin Breel describes himself as a teenager, a stand-up comic, a writer and an activist for mental health.  In this captivating TED talk Kevin shares his story about depression, how it has impacted his life and why he is grateful for it.

“Unfortunately we live in a world where when you break your arm, everyone runs over to sign your cast. But if you tell people you’re depressed, everyone runs the other way.”

“That’s the stigma. We are so accepting of any body part breaking down, other than our brains.”

If you have not yet heard this brilliant talk, then take a few minutes now to listen to the amazing way Kevin has approached this extremely important topic.  

Kevin ends his talk with a powerful declaration,

“The world I believe in is one where embracing your light doesn’t mean ignoring your dark.  The world I believe in is one where we are measured by our ability to overcome adversities not avoid them.  The world I believe in is one where I can look someone in the eye and say, “I’m going through hell,” and they can look back at me and say, “me too,” and that’s okay.  Because depression is okay.”

